Happy Fourth of July!

“To me, being an American means that I have the opportunity to do anything I want. It makes me feel sad that I’m not with my real family but at the same time I’m happy that I can spend it with my CYB family.”- Clayton Owens

“I like knowing I can grow up to be whatever I want. Spending the Fourth of July here instead of home is a new experience but I’m glad I get to hang out with my friends.”- CJ Kurtz

What does the Fourth of July mean to you? How do you feel celebrating Independence day here instead of with your family? What does being American mean to you?

IMG_0043Today is one of the most memorable moments in our country’s history and CYB has the pleasure of celebrating this important with 63 campers.

Curious as to how the campers felt about celebrating such an important day in our history away from family, I went out and asked them. “Fourth of July is where we can come together as a nation and celebrate what it means to be an American,” Jennifer Perez told me. “It’s nice to spend it with friends because you can experience something new.”

More seemed to agree with this sentiment.

IMG_0081
Emily Gomez

“Fourth of July is pretty lit especially those fireworks…I love them. For me, this is a time where we celebrate America as a nation, after all, we are very lucky to be here.”- Emily Gomez

“I think it’s very important because it celebrates our nation’s birthday. For my family, this is probably the first or second year our family can celebrate this important day as citizens, and I wish I could be with them during this time but I know that celebrating this day with fellow American’s is also important.”- Aida Soare

“I like being an American because it gives you the opportunity to have a better life than what you may have had before. Celebrating this day here is cool because I can hang out with strangers that turn into friends.” – Andrew Echeveria

IMG_0087
Linda Milholen

“I think that the Fourth of July is more than about fireworks and having fun- even though that’s what we do. I think it’s about celebrating the fact that we are free and that we have this opportunity to be in America. Celebrating a day like this here, at CYB, without my family does make me feel sad but celebrating it with the people at camp gives this day a different aspect in my mind. It makes it more memorable.”- Linda Milholen

The day started off as any normal day with the children going to the activities they signed up for,  around the camp people could be seen wearing the red, white, and blue in honor of our nation. Some staff and kids wore face paint to keep this memorable day in the forefront of their minds as they went throughout their day. At the end of the night, we ended the day with some fireworks.

IMG_0063 IMG_0055

Fourth of July is a special day and we are so glad we get to spend this day with these kids.

Written by: Julena Allen

Leave a Reply

